Oscars: Bridesmaids


The Academy Awards announced  the 2012 Oscars nominations last Monday. I wait for the announcements every year, hoping to recognize some of the nominees. This year, I’m quite happy to say that a comedy written by women and about women made it to the list.

Directed by Paul Feig, this film received a Rotten Tomatoes rating of 90 percent, and an audience rating of 76 percent.

Bridesmaids will always bring good memories to me because I was fortunate enough to see it with my friends during my last year of college. Bridesmaids was the last movie we watched together before going our different ways.

Although it’s considered a little raunchy, this film had sentimental value for me. I was able to sympathize with the protagonist enough to bypass the uncomfortable raunchiness. It’s funny and smart. My favorite scene is when Annie tries to get Officer Nathan Rhodes’s attention. She breaks a handful of  laws, driving her car like a mad woman, until finally he snaps.

The characters are unique, including the main character, Annie Walker (Kristen Wiig). She has a distinctive trait about her and a well written background story. The officer who captures her heart is quite lovable and funny. I thought they made a nice couple. He supports her dreams and encourages her to do the things she loves.

This film is a change from all the things we saw in 2011. I’m happy to see it nominated, especially since the Academy rarely nominates comedies. Therefore, this film has made an impression. Bridesmaids is not just a comedy, but a movie about friendship and loyalty. It’s the relationship between the characters and their personalities that make this film Oscar nominee (original movie) worthy for me.

At 125 minutes, ‘Bridesmaids’ is long for a comedy, but it earns its running time by fully developing its characters and their relationships. ~ Greg Maki (Star-Democrat)

This film is rated R.

Kisses & Hershey’s
Steph

Leave a Reply

