Book Review: Written in Red by Anne Bishop

Reading level: Ages 18 and up
Hardcover: 448 pages
Publisher: Roc Hardcover (March 5, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451464966
ISBN-13: 978-0451464965

As a cassandra sangue, or blood prophet, Meg Corbyn can see the future when her skin is cut—a gift that feels more like a curse. Meg’s Controller keeps her enslaved so he can have full access to her visions. But when she escapes, the only safe place Meg can hide is at the Lakeside Courtyard—a business district operated by the Others.

Shape-shifter Simon Wolfgard is reluctant to hire the stranger who inquires about the Human Liaison job. First, he senses she’s keeping a secret, and second, she doesn’t smell like human prey. Yet a stronger instinct propels him to give Meg the job. And when he learns the truth about Meg and that she’s wanted by the government, he’ll have to decide if she’s worth the fight between humans and the Others that will surely follow.

At first, the premise of the story threw me off guard. The need to cut to induce prophecies is inconvenient, perhaps discomforting. I also didn’t think much about the background story (whole different topic of conversation). However, I found myself intrigued. Turns out, Meg’s has a lot to learn about her gift (about the cassandra sangue), the Others, and about the world in which she lives.

I couldn’t stop reading. Watching these characters grow (in my mind’s eye) was an enjoyable reading experience. The youngest member of the Wolfgard clan stole my heart. Meg is kind and brave. She quickly gains friends along the way (although, at times too quickly, I felt). Simon is intuitive and honest. In this book, they are off to a great friendship, and possibly something more. I liked them as characters.

The mythical/folkloric beings in this book have no reservations about eating their enemy. It could get bloody at times. I wouldn’t want to trespass their territory or disrespect their laws. These characters are scary.

This book certainly worked for me. I think Written in Red is an enjoyable and fun book to read on a Saturday night, maybe with some popcorn. Bishop’s new realm is colorful, full of mysterious mythical/powerful beings. I would like to learn more about the Others (quite diverse groups of people).

I gave it 4.5 stars because I enjoyed it, and I want to read the second book.

Anne Bishop’s new paranormal novel, Written in Red, will be in stores March 5, 2013 in the United States. I recommend it to Anne Bishop fans and fans of the paranormal genre. Thanks goodreads.com and Roc (a division of Penguin Group, USA) for the advanced readers copy.

Thanks for reading,

Steph

One thought on “Book Review: Written in Red by Anne Bishop

Leave a Reply

