Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J. Maas

Sophie Reviews

timthumb.php

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury USA (May 5, 2015)
  • ISBN-10: 1619634449
  • ISBN-13: 978-1619634442
  • Fantasy – Adults – New Adults

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed…

View original post 338 more words

Advertisements

An Audiobook Experience: This is How You Lose Her by Junot Díaz

Sophie Reviews

junot-diaz-lose-herI love psychical books despite acknowledging the dying Amazon rainforest, climate change, and the increasing need for sustainability. There’s something hypnotizing about the smell of books, their weight, and the texture of their covers. It’s like… Well, it’s like book-foreplay.

My days are often filled with empty pockets of times, such as my morning and afternoon commutes, my weekly trips to the grocery store, and my ritualistic lunchtime walk through Central Park. Then, although it would be a dream come true, I cannot read and take care of these tasks all at once. Therefore, I listen to audiobooks, which can also be a remarkable experience.

My latest favorite audiobook is Junot Díaz’ This is How You Lose Her, which I listened to during my daily commutes. If you enjoy Junot Díaz’ writing and novels, then this is the perfect audiobook for you. Junot Díaz reads This is How You…

View original post 210 more words

Book Review: Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

Sophie Reviews

quote-my-mother-gave-me-a-disappointed-look-then-i-gave-her-one-back-mine-was-for-everything-carol-rifka-brunt-106-98-58

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Dial Press Trade Paperback; Reprint edition (June 4, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0812982851
  • ISBN-13: 978-081298285

There’s only one person who has ever truly understood fourteen-year-old June Elbus, and that’s her uncle, the renowned painter Finn Weiss. Shy at school and distant from her older sister, June can only be herself in Finn’s company; he is her godfather, confidant, and best friend. So when he dies, far too young, of a mysterious illness her mother can barely speak about, June’s world is turned upside down. But Finn’s death brings a surprise acquaintance into June’s life—someone who will help her to heal, and to question what she thinks she knows about Finn, her family, and even her own heart.

At Finn’s funeral, June notices a strange man lingering just beyond the crowd. A few days later, she receives a package in the mail. Inside is a beautiful teapot…

View original post 347 more words