Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J. Maas

Sophie Reviews

timthumb.php

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury USA (May 5, 2015)
  • ISBN-10: 1619634449
  • ISBN-13: 978-1619634442
  • Fantasy – Adults – New Adults

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed…

View original post 338 more words

An Audiobook Experience: This is How You Lose Her by Junot Díaz

Sophie Reviews

junot-diaz-lose-herI love psychical books despite acknowledging the dying Amazon rainforest, climate change, and the increasing need for sustainability. There’s something hypnotizing about the smell of books, their weight, and the texture of their covers. It’s like… Well, it’s like book-foreplay.

My days are often filled with empty pockets of times, such as my morning and afternoon commutes, my weekly trips to the grocery store, and my ritualistic lunchtime walk through Central Park. Then, although it would be a dream come true, I cannot read and take care of these tasks all at once. Therefore, I listen to audiobooks, which can also be a remarkable experience.

My latest favorite audiobook is Junot Díaz’ This is How You Lose Her, which I listened to during my daily commutes. If you enjoy Junot Díaz’ writing and novels, then this is the perfect audiobook for you. Junot Díaz reads This is How You…

View original post 210 more words

Book Review: Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

Sophie Reviews

quote-my-mother-gave-me-a-disappointed-look-then-i-gave-her-one-back-mine-was-for-everything-carol-rifka-brunt-106-98-58

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Dial Press Trade Paperback; Reprint edition (June 4, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0812982851
  • ISBN-13: 978-081298285

There’s only one person who has ever truly understood fourteen-year-old June Elbus, and that’s her uncle, the renowned painter Finn Weiss. Shy at school and distant from her older sister, June can only be herself in Finn’s company; he is her godfather, confidant, and best friend. So when he dies, far too young, of a mysterious illness her mother can barely speak about, June’s world is turned upside down. But Finn’s death brings a surprise acquaintance into June’s life—someone who will help her to heal, and to question what she thinks she knows about Finn, her family, and even her own heart.

At Finn’s funeral, June notices a strange man lingering just beyond the crowd. A few days later, she receives a package in the mail. Inside is a beautiful teapot…

View original post 347 more words

Changes

 

 

Hello Friends!

I am challenging myself to read more books this year. Therefore, I have decided to create a “book reviews” only blog, where I will be moving some of the book reviews I had posted on this page. If you are interested in what I’m reading these days, check it out: https://sophiereviewsblog.wordpress.com

It’s still under construction, but I hope it can be a space to hold “book clubs” and share my experience reading books with others. Also, on this blog, I plan only to post on books that I truly enjoy. Let me know if you have any questions.

Best,

Stephanie Sophie M.

Objectification & The Media: Blurred Lines of Advertisement

I don’t write these types of post. So, please bear with me for a few minutes. My young sister showed me a video yesterday. In this video, a group of teenagers watch the music video for the song, Blurred Lines.

I know the arguments about the “Blurred Lines” video are exhausted. However, I felt compelled to write after watching these kids react to the video and add to the conversation. Firstly, I would like to praise the creators of  “TheFineBros” for encouraging young people to become aware/conscious of the messages in the media.  I was able to find many interesting videos on their Youtube channel.  Secondly, the Blurred Lines song is catchy, but I’m not a fan of the song or video. Similarly, I do not intent to demean the video neither defend it. In fact, this post has nothing to do with the song or the video. My intention is to highlight the “blurred lines” of female and male objectification in the media. How do we decide which images right for ? How do they make us feel and/or react? 

Yes, I believe we can use the “blurred lines” phrase to describe the role of women in media advertisement.

Here’s where things get complicated.

This      and  this   

Can you tell the difference? While these two images are representing only one type of body image, these images have different connotations. The victoria secret ad sells sexiness, which seems fitting for a store that sells underwear to women. However, the conflict arrives when these images are overly photoshop, creating unrealistic expectations for men and women. This happens often. I also take issue with the lack of diversity in the fashion world.

The second picture is a problem.  Well, I don’t understand what that’s selling.

In some instances,  the images in certain advertisement seem to glorify (for lack of a better word) violence against women.

Dolce & Gabbana ad.

The picture has a BDSM feel in its composition. The female model seems forced into a vulnerable position. All four men desire the same woman, while one man pins the woman down in what appears is against her will. Granted, my problem is not BDSM. My problem is with the “against her will” emotion this image evokes. We see these types of imagines every day on television, on billboards, and shopping malls. We see it so often that we might become uncaring about how people perceive these images, especially children.

American Apparel is known for using provocative pictures for advertisement. The positions of the models are too suggestive for me to focus on the clothes alone. Am I supposed to ignore he’s holding her legs like that? Are these pictures selling sex or clothes?

These types of ads make me feel a little devalued. No, this is not me feeling victimized. I’m making an informed comment, based on observation and research. In media advertisement, the body of a woman often equals her value. If the female body fits the standards of beauty, then the body becomes more  profitable/valuable. Ultimately, that is the message women and men everywhere receive.

Let me be fair. It’s not as popular, but men’s bodies are also objectified in the media. The response is usually the same. These images raise unrealistic expectations about how women’s and men’s bodies should look like and how they should behave according to their sex.

 

I hope I’m making sense here. The objectification of bodies in the media is hardly a secret. Nonetheless, the discussion  is still relevant. If we ignore the discussion, then nothing will change. We might become desensitized to these images and how we see them… The discussion about it will continue. These images set a standard for young boys and girls. It’s the reason posts like this one continue to exist. I would love to hear your thoughts on their matter.

Thanks for reading.

Best,

Steph